What Remains

What’s at the core
remains as residue,
hard as teeth.

If memory drains away,
then what remains?
A face? A name?

One grows dull,
and the other leafy
with distant songs.

Prompt:

I felt ill yesterday for no rhyme or reason. Maybe it’s all the junk food I’ve been eating. It was a kind of nausea that presages death, that’s how it was. All I wanted was sleep. But I’ve come back from the dead now. Good as new. Maybe. I slept through the entire National Day parade. Reminds me of the time it happened during Christmas and I slept through the entire Christmas party. Not good. So guys, try to eat healthily ok? For today, write about illness.

Leave a Reply

