Doing An Improv

I’m thrown, as in never ever been
on stage. Never ever? Only once
actually but hush don’t tell.
I’ve never ever done acting,
or singing, that’s a first.
A ragged terrible truth.

Never ever done improv so why
now? Why never? That’s true.
So why not now? Are you going
round in circles, a spinner
in some labyrinth of your own
making, a certain oppression?

I like it: the elegance, the
je ne sais quoi, the artistic
creation, having to inhabit
a persona so it’d make me less
self-absorbed, and finally
still bring me to myself.

Prompt:

I don’t know about you guys, but a lot of what I write is improvisation. It’s written on the spot, at one sitting. I’ve had the chance to witness how it’s done in theater too. Improv theater: “in which most or all of what is performed is unplanned or unscripted: created spontaneously by the performers. In its purest form, the dialogue, action, story, and characters are created collaboratively by the players as the improvisation unfolds in present time, without use of an already prepared, written script.” At least that happens at the collaborative stage of creating a script out of nothing for theater. There’s something to be said for randomness, and how that contributes to the final product. So show me how you incorporate random things into your poem.

(Random note: I’m still catching up on my emails, so do not fret if you’ve not heard anything about work submitted. Life is kinda busy right now so give it some time please.)

Leave a Reply

