Tying The Knot

She’s all motherly solicitude
straightening up his tie.
Her son’s all resplendent
in happiness, bride glowing
by his side. So we’re assured of
progeny, passing of the baton.

All the jewels in the world
cannot be substitute for
the kingdom of heaven.
Everyone flickered with
this awareness, wondering where
we will go next. Or when.

So much form and ceremony
contingent on following
a script. Who could remain
cool as a lettuce? The trial
begins with pride, wearing
a corsage, wishing well.

Prompt:

Still on writing, guys. I was just listening to Anne Lamott’s Ted Talk, “12 Truths I learned from Life and Writing”. She urged one to write “your truth, your version of things, in your own voice” and “that’s really all you have to offer us, and that’s also why you were born.” Whoa. And she also said something about trying to get your work published, to be legit you know (wink wink), to plug all the cheesy holes in your soul (I am paraphrasing) and you know what, it doesn’t matter, it doesn’t plug those holes, it’s your writing that does it. Pretty much how I feel about writing. I mean, writing is so phantasmagoric, know what I mean, that it’s pretty much its own reward. So is there value in what you write, you’ve got to ask yourself that. I like this quote from Lamott too.

“I try to write the books I would love to come upon, that are honest, concerned with real lives, human hearts, spiritual transformation, families, secrets, wonder, craziness—and that can make me laugh. When I am reading a book like this, I feel rich and profoundly relieved to be in the presence of someone who will share the truth with me, and throw the lights on a little, and I try to write these kinds of books. Books, for me, are medicine.”

So can you write a poem like that…like medicine (gulp)?

Leave a Reply

