Tessa, What We’re Obsessed With

I’ll be honest with you guys–
what she said, it’s all true like
you know it, and wouldn’t say it
and when someone’s said it you’d
laugh in a mad stream. Sure is
funny when you’re dead serious.
Something called dark humor.

What? You, with bee-hive hair and
a wristful of designer glass bangles,
interjected peering out of horn-rimmed
glasses. I said, clothes make the man–
did you not know in Haiti the whites
wore coats no matter the heat, and shoes.
Race and class. Serious, are they not?

So in a sweep language erupts to paint
a shadow, a shimmering fury, a ripple.
A boil will fester. That’s how it goes.
Some words swarmed. Others–you said no.
So much depends on time, and space
and other things. But no matter what
the sun shall rise to meet the crow.

Prompt: I don’t know who said it first–clothes make a man–Shakespeare or Mark Twain, or someone else? No matter. You are to find a quote and then write a poem around that quote. Here’re a couple if you’re too lazy to find a quote yourself.

“My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.”– Cary Grant

“I think everybody’s nuts.”– Johnny Depp

“As you think, so shall you become.”– Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

